Fast facts


Capital Brussels

Area 30,527.9 sq. km (11.787 sq. mi)

Population 11,358,357*

Population per sq. km 368
Official languages Dutch (Flemish), French (Walloon) and German

Currency Euro (EUR or €)

International credit cards are widely accepted. It’s advised to withdraw cash with a debit card or credit card, as most Belgian banks don’t cash travellers cheques anymore. 

Time zone GMT +1 (GMT +from the end of March till the end of October)

Electricity/mains voltage 220-230V AC, 50Hz, two-pin plugs of the types C, E and F are standard

Weights and measures Metric system


DVD/Blu-Ray Region 2/Zone B

International call prefix and country code +32

*situation on 1 January 2018 (source:


Capital Brussels

Official language Dutch (Flemish)

In Flanders, most people speak or understand English and French 

Area 13,521 sq. km (5,221 sq. mi)

Population 6,546,785*

Population per sq. km 478

*situation on 1 January 2018 (source:

Major cities*

Aalst population of 85,615 
Antwerp population of 521,680 
Brussels population of 177,112 
Bruges population of 118,136 
Genk population of 66,037 
Ghent population of 259,570 
Hasselt population of 77,594 
Kortrijk population of 76,242 
Leuven population of 101,197 
Mechelen population of 86,137 

Ostend population of 71,224 
Roeselare population of 62,209 
Sint-Niklaas population of 76,670 
Turnhout population of 44,035 

*situation on 1 January 2018 (source:


Antwerp capital: Antwerp
East Flanders capital: Ghent

Flemish Brabant capital: Leuven

Limburg capital: Hasselt

West Flanders capital: Bruges

Flanders also has its own local institutions in the Brussels-Capital region: the Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie (VGC), and its municipal antennae (Gemeenschapscentra, community centres for the Flemish community in Brussels). These institutions are independent of the educational, cultural and social institutions that depend directly on the Flemish government.

Brussels is a part of Flanders as far as community matters are concerned, but does not belong to the Flemish Region. 

Film Cities

Antwerp - Film Office -
Bruges - Film
Ghent (in Dutch) - Film Office (in Dutch) -
Leuven -
Ostend (in Dutch) -